FFfAW – The First Walk

fffaw-16216-22

 

Today is like any other; I feel isolated and scared – life goes on.

I often travel to the city’s most populated spots, hoping to find comfort being part of the crowd. The crowd rejects me. They realize the fraud that I am and I am shunned, pushed aside, left feeling alone and hollow – life goes on.

I am on the beach today; the family with their three kids, the teenagers and their game of football have moved across the sea just to keep me away. I want to be a part of their day, I want them to be part of mine but a body of water separates us. I feel betrayed – life goes on.

I step towards the water; the sand moves away, they don’t want me close. I continue moving forward and the water parts. Am I untouchable?

I walk forward on the path now uncovered; the teenagers wave at me, the family has saved me a spot. I feel accepted and happy – life goes on.

 

Word Count: 170


Thank you, Priceless Joy and Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers for the prompt. For other stories, hit the blue frog below!

4 thoughts on “FFfAW – The First Walk”

  1. I love the happy ending – to find out you are wanted after thinking you are being rejected. Wonderful story! If this is your first participation in the challenge, FFfAW, welcome! I hope you enjoy the challenge and I also hope to read your future stories.

    Like

Leave a Reply

